Find us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Flickr
Connect with us on LinkedIn

SPONSORS

Sell Photos Online

FEATURED SITES

PhotographyTips.com - the #1 guide to better conventional and digital photography Become a Member iPhone Posing GuideGuide to Posing the Female Model BookGuide to Posing the Model CD
Login

Photography Forums

Category:
customize
profile new topic join search today help
home
login
Author
Message Text For:
Concert Shoot and Focusing
[ FORUMS : THREADS : REFRESH : NEXT THREAD ]

Snapshot56
Date Posted: Oct/27/2010 11:03 PM
Print Thread Text Format

Good evening

I am new to the field of event photography and seeking advice on an upcoming shoot. I am shooting a jazz concert with two artist and a trio band. The main artist will be on stage most of the time alone. This is my first time shooting this type of event and would appreciate pointers - are there certain do's and do nots in concert shooting? Any suggestions on camera settings? Also I have a problem focusing when there is more than one person in the scene. I am shooting with a fujifilm S3 Pro and a tamron lense 28mm - 75mm 2.8.

-------------------------
I AM A SUCCESS GOING SOMEWHERE TO SUCCEED!

Bottom
Next
Previous

swanseamale47
Date Posted: Oct/28/2010 5:18 AM
View Profile Print Thread Text Format
I haven't used an S3 but have tried the S5 which was more or less a D200 with a different sensor from memory.
Theres a lot of factors here, how close can you get? what sort of lighting is there? When I last did a jazz event the lighting was pretty bad, heavyly coloured lights at akward angles made it a bit of a pain if I'm honest, I did get some moody shots with the available light but had to use a little flash for some others.